And in the Boxing Ring Today…..

Whilst I am on an enforced ‘work’ holiday owing to a frozen shoulder, I thought I would post something pretty that is not my work. It wouldn’t be fair to leave you without some boxy jollity this Friday in late May. YES! LATE MAY though it feels like November!

Cold, wet and windy!

So to cheer you up, I’m going here, to combine two of my loves. Embroidery and boxes.

I’ve made all sorts of boxes in the past and some of them were embroidered. Some were made on plastic canvas, others had to be made up rather like the Etui , little containers used to hide away all those sewing requisites ladies needed, in the past, to create their beautiful and yet functional works of art, which you can occasionally find in antique shops

So lets, start with an etui. Thank you Sewin’ Birds for this lovely example.

 

 

 

etuiSmThe design is quite simple and each piece folds out to hold pins, needles snippets of lace or scissors.

 

 

 

Small Treasures

 

 

This little box is covered with a plain material and then ribbon embroidered. For those who have never tried it, it’s a form which grows quickly and can be very satisfying as a result. There are oodles of books online which show you the rudiments.I can recommend it if you think you haven’t the patience for silk or cotton work. Thank you Small Treasures for this piece.

 

 

389122_344135525708827_9643834_n

 

 

This is from one of my favourite embroiderers. This lady, in Japan runs courses on Cartonnage – the skill of making boxes and then- she embroiders them beautifully. She often uses lace and ribbon to add dimension to her work. Go and look at Aetelier Claire ( who also has a Facebook page ).

Jennifer Taylor does some super work and here is one of her little round hatbox type containers. Not embroidery as such, but it could be with its fancy edge and criss -cross pattern. Love the tassels!

 

 

jennifer-taylor-cornelia-decorative-boxes

 

If you are into cross stitch or needlepoint then a plastic canvas may be for you.

 

 

 

3D-Cross-stitch-Embroidery-Needlepoint-Fabric-Set-DIY-Unique-Craft-Home-Textile-House-font-b-Tissue

 

 

This one is a tissue box rather like the one I made in my last post but this is made into a bird house shape. They are great fun to make and a little less demanding than free embroidery.

 

Tiny_Treasures_Kit_01

 

This one is on the same principle but a little more advanced. Tiny Treasure again. I think this looks rather homespun and has a sort of American Colonial look to it.

 

 

il_570xN.375929564_9kt6

 

 

This is just the cutest design. It’s based on the Medieval reliquary; those beautifully decorated boxes which were often peppered with jewels, festooned with gold wire work and fine enamels. Of course they had to be sumptuous – they housed the bones of venerated Saints.

Like this one…..

 

 

h2_17.190.514

 

 

The sewn one hasn’t got any bones in it….I hope.

ON the same lines….

The Stumpwork casket.

I have loved these exquisite little cases since I was a girl and was first taken to the Victoria and Albert Museum at about 8 years of age. To be told then, that children of my age were the ones who embroidered them…well…you can imagine how that took me?

 

 

16d4778a3cf9b9ee0d0372e3e37f2fc5

 

Go here to find out about Stumpwork….

To me, this is the epitome of the needlewomans’ art. FABULOUS!

Looking at these and compiling this post for you is rather a torment to me as my fingers begin to itch to take up a needle…but I have to be patient. Besides…my new puppy comes tomorrow..and I have to devote all my spare time to him for the next few weeks.

Maybe just as well!

 

 

942003_10151452749849077_274645682_n

 

See you in a while……. 🙂

 

 

58a3e5f

Leave a Reply

